[charms] OpenStack Charms 19.10 release is now available

Peter Matulis peter.matulis at canonical.com
Thu Oct 24 21:07:58 UTC 2019

The OpenStack Charms team is thrilled to announce the 19.10 charms
release, introducing support for OpenStack Train and Ceph Nautilus on
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (via UCA) and Ubuntu 19.10. This release also brings
several new and valuable features to the existing OpenStack Charms
deployments for Queens, Rocky, Stein, and many other stable
combinations of Ubuntu + OpenStack.

Please see the Release Notes for full details:

== Highlights ==

* OpenStack Train
OpenStack Train is now supported on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (via UCA) and Ubuntu 19.10.

* Policy Overrides
A new Policy Overrides feature provides operators with a mechanism to
override policy defaults on a per-service basis.

* Ceph Nautilus
The Nautilus release of Ceph is now supported, in conjunction with
OpenStack Train.

* Ceph placement group autotuning
In Ceph Nautilus, the autotuning of placement groups is now supported.

* Neutron port forwarding
The Neutron port forwarding extension can now be optionally enabled
for OpenStack Rocky and later.

* Migration to FQDN for agent registration
When deploying OpenStack Stein or newer, the Nova Compute agent and
Neutron agents will now use a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) when
registering with the API services.

* Ceph RADOS Gateway tenant namespacing
The ceph-radosgw charm now supports deployment with tenant namespaces.

* New charm: Placement
There is a new charm for the placement API: the 'placement' charm. The
new charm must be deployed and related to the nova-cloud-controller
charm for OpenStack Train deployments. This will affect Stein to Train

* New charm: Cinder integration with Pure Storage array
There is a new subordinate charm that can be used to integrate Cinder
with a Pure Storage array: the 'cinder-purestorage' charm.

* nova-cloud-controller: instance migration - DNS caching is now the default
The caching of DNS lookups of the nova-compute units is now the
default behaviour.

== OpenStack Charms team ==
The OpenStack Charms team can be contacted on the #openstack-charms
IRC channel on Freenode. The team will be at the Open Infrastructure
Summit and PTG events in Shanghai (November 4-8, 2019).

== Thank you ==
Massive appreciation of the below 59 charm contributors who squashed
41 bugs, enabled support for a new release of OpenStack, improved
documentation, and added compelling new functionality!

Frode Nordahl
Chris MacNaughton
Corey Bryant
Ryan Beisner
Camille Rodriguez
David Ames
Alex Kavanagh
Liam Young
James Page
Dmitrii Shcherbakov
Rodrigo Barbieri
Peter Matulis
Sahid Orentino Ferdjaoui
Edward Hope-Morley
Tytus Kurek
Ghanshyam Mann
Jorge Niedbalski
Natalia Litvinova
Tiago Pasqualini
Nicolas Pochet
Narinder Gupta
Andrea Ieri
Andreas Jaeger
Eduardo Sousa
Zachary Zehring
Trent Lloyd
Mike Wilson
David Coronel
Stamatis Katsaounis
Dan Ackerson
Hua Zhang
Dongdong Tao
Ian Wienand
Felipe Reyes
Ramon Grullon
Joe Guo
Erlon R. Cruz
George Kraft
Alvaro Uria
Peter Sabaini
Michael Skalka
Nikolay Vinogradov
Jose Delarosa
Seyeong Kim
Mark S. Maglana
Nobuto Murata
Andrew McLeod
Frank Kloeker
Tim Burke
Cory Johns
Marian Gasparovic
Pete Vander Giessen
Ryan Farrell
Levente Tamas
Alexander Litvinov
Marcelo Subtil Marcal

OpenStack Charms Team

More information about the openstack-discuss mailing list