[openstack-dev] [tripleo][nova][neutron] changing the default qemu group in tripleo

Saravanan KR skramaja at redhat.com
Mon Feb 12 05:45:58 UTC 2018


With OvS2.8, the USER and GROUP in which ovs will run has been changed
to openvswitch:openvswitch (for regular ovs builds) and
openvswitch:hugetlbfs (for DPDK enable ovs builds). Since for fedora
family, we have always DPDK enabled builds, all TripleO deployments
will have OvS running with openvswitch:hugetlbfs.

For DPDK, qemu should also run with the same group "hugetlbfs" so that
the vhost sockets could be shared between qemu and openvswitch. So we
are making the change to set "group" in /etc/libvirt/qemu.conf to
"hugetlbfs" for DPDK deployments. And it is all working fine.

Now the question is - should we make qemu run with same group for all
the nodes of the deployment [or] only the nodes which have DPDK

It is possible for the DPDK nodes to host non-DPDK VMs (like SR-IOV or
regular tenant VMs). So all VMs will be running with "qemu:hugetlbfs"
user and group. So to avoid conflicts of running different group on
different roles of a TripleO deployment, I prefer to update the qemu
group as "hugetlbfs" for all the nodes of all roles, if DPDK is
enabled in the deployment.

Let us know if you see any issues on this approach?

Saravanan KR

More information about the OpenStack-dev mailing list