[openstack-dev] [Swift] Swift 1.9.0 released: global clusters and more

John Dickinson me at not.mn
Tue Jul 2 13:29:38 UTC 2013

I'm pleased to announce that Swift 1.9.0 has been released. This has
been a great release with major features added, thanks to the combined
effort of 37 different contributors.

Full release notes: https://github.com/openstack/swift/blob/master/CHANGELOG
Download: https://launchpad.net/swift/havana/1.9.0

Feature Summary

Full global clusters support

With this release, Swift fully supports global clusters. A single
Swift cluster can now be deployed a wide geographic area (eg across an
ocean or continent) and still provide high durability and
availability. This feature has four major parts:

    * Region tier for data placement
    * Adjustable replica counts
    * Separate replication network support
    * Affinity on reads and writes

Improvements in disk performance

The object server can now be configured to use threadpools to increase
performance and smooth out latency on storage nodes. Also, many disk
operations were reordered to increase reliablility and improve
performance. This work is a direct result of the design summit
sessions in Portland.

Support for config directories

Swift now supports conf.d style config directories. This allows config
snippets to be managed independently and composed into the full config
for a Swift process. For example, a deployer can have a config snippet
for each piece of proxy middleware.

Multiple TempURL keys

The TempURL feature (temporary, signed URLs) now supports two signing
keys. This allows users to safely rotate keys without invalidating
existing signed URLs.


There's a ton of "other" stuff in this release including features,
security fixes, general polishing, and bug fixes. I encourage you to
check out the full release notes for more info

New Contributors

Twelve of the 37 total contributors are first-time contributors to
Swift. They are:

    * Fabien Boucher (fabien.boucher at enovance.com)
    * Brian D. Burns (iosctr at gmail.com)
    * Alex Gaynor (alex.gaynor at gmail.com)
    * Edward Hope-Morley (opentastic at gmail.com)
    * Matthieu Huin (mhu at enovance.com)
    * Shri Javadekar (shrinand at maginatics.com)
    * Sergey Kraynev (skraynev at mirantis.com)
    * Dieter Plaetinck (dieter at vimeo.com)
    * Chuck Short (chuck.short at canonical.com)
    * Dmitry Ukov (dukov at mirantis.com)
    * Vladimir Vechkanov (vvechkanov at mirantis.com)
    * niu-zglinux (Niu.ZGlinux at gmail.com)

Thank you to everyone who contributed.


-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: smime.p7s
Type: application/pkcs7-signature
Size: 4082 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://lists.openstack.org/pipermail/openstack-dev/attachments/20130702/06a5de13/attachment.bin>

More information about the OpenStack-dev mailing list